God and Caesar

We’ve heard it said there is nothing more certain than death and taxes. Since I am writing this blog, I certainly haven’t had the first experience yet – but man o man – I have had the second one! We all have experienced taxes. It seems its particularly harsh as an independent, small business person.

Our income taxes are required to be paid by Revenue Canada in advance of having made any earnings. I’m okay with that, sort of…BUT…when the estimates come in and they’re so large and they are required…well…my blood pressure escalates. I simply had to come up with a solution that would both satisfy my legal requirements and my soul requirements – that would motivate me to earn money and not feel like I’m being robbed at every turn.

This spring I hatched a grand plan. Caesar will not earn more than God from my hard earned money! And so it was – if CRA required one dollar (laugh laugh) – then God will receive the same dollar. By the way – so will my retirement fund. Equal recipients. The most satisfying part of it is giving to God for His ministry. It makes me so happy to increase my giving.

And so – recently a ‘love note from Ottawa’ (My Beloved calls them) arrived – with the next blueprint for extraction from my bank account. Deep breath – its okay – God will receive the same amount.
It gives me real joy to give to my King and makes everything else bearable. I had to do something because my attitude regarding taxes was out of control – and made me wonder if I should work like this at all – but now as I consider Mark 12:17 ‘render unto Caesar the things that are Caesar’s and to God the things that God’s – I have a better attitude. Estimate my earnings all you want CRA (Canada Revenue Agency) – I am definitely giving it back to CHRIST (this beats the HST) too! Thank you Lord for the ability to earn money so that I have this opportunity in Your Service.

About Diary of a Changed Woman

Living a blessed life in Canada with my husband on the beautiful shores of Lake Huron. I work as a Human Resources consultant to small business. I love my family - our grandchildren are the loves of my life. I'm a change agent personally and professionally. Change is what I'm about - no matter what!
This entry was posted in Bible Verse of the Day. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment