Death Sentence or Life Sentence?

Day 1 at the gym. My Darling Daughter is my personal trainer. I cannot think of a better person. Her daily example is one I need to follow. Personal discipline of the highest order. Dedication to caring for her body through proper nutrition. The embrace of an active life. Oh how I aspire to these qualities – oh how I fail. Again, my quest for balance needs to address these areas.

I only have today to create change. I cannot look backward or forward. I believe in my heart that I must do some things that will support my body, so that in turn, it will support me. Hence my need to ‘step it up’ and include weight training in my routine. I am committing myself to three times per week and I must schedule it to ensure it is a priority much like a client meeting (which I never fail to attend). How much more so when I am no longer in business, will I still need my body? So client meetings and health meetings need to meet on the pages of my daytimer.

My Darling Daughter is very regimented. This is what draws me to her lifestyle. So at 8:45 on the dot, we were out the door to stop ay the school and then to the fitness centre. SIGH…the building looks very big and I feel very small.

There is a sea of machines and people comfortably moving around otherwise engaged in their business…we start with a warm up on eliptical. One and half minutes later I report to my trainer that my muscles are burning. Her intense blue eyes communicate I had better not start with her. I take a deep breath and tell myself I must stock up on Tylenol on the way home if I make it out alive.

Machine to machine. My trainer assessing what will work – what won’t work. Some things are surprisingly doable. SIGH…this has to be my life or I will become immobile very soon.

Finally the magic hour is complete. I’m a little worse for the wear. My trainer says ‘okay, you can do this, right?’ I have these moments where I feel overwhelmed. This was one of them. My eyes filled with tears all by themselves. She looked at me compassionately and said, ‘C’mon, its not a death sentence.’ I thought to myself, no its a life sentence – but stopped myself because I want the life sentence to sound positive. This is my life. But it is for life – the rest of my life.

Now all I need to do is figure out how I embrace the life sentence.

About Diary of a Changed Woman

Living a blessed life in Canada with my husband on the beautiful shores of Lake Huron. I work as a Human Resources consultant to small business. I love my family - our grandchildren are the loves of my life. I'm a change agent personally and professionally. Change is what I'm about - no matter what!
This entry was posted in Daily Walk. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

