Surprise! Your Vote Evaporated…

It’s election time in our city which means that signs pop up to compete with the colours of the changing landscape. On this particular weekend, a representative from the local restauranteur candidate for council stopped by to ask for my prime sign location. We are on an alleyway heading to the commuter train. I agreed.

The next day upon arrival from church, we observed the aforementioned sign removed and two additional signs for an opposing candidate were in progress of installation. ‘Excuse me – who gave you permission to hang these signs?’ ‘Please remove them and re-install the one you just removed.’ I mean – how rude – and opportunistic. You think my vote is secure and hence there was an unauthorized sign hanging in my back yard. WRONG. I’ve seen the restauranter’s face more in the past two oe three years than I’ve ever seen the incumbent. I mean, if the incumbent would walk our streets a little more she would see exactly what needs to be done and we would have no debate.

The problem here is the notion of assumption. Just because things were the way they always appeared, doesn’t mean I am not worthy of the conversation today. I am not a mindless drone who simply does what she does without thought or consideration. Hence, your vote evaporated in your own world of believing that there is nothing you can do to lose the vote – when in fact you have not done anything to win it. Times have been challenging. We watch, we listen. We wonder. Election coming and not even a feeble attempt at getting things put together and ensuring that people are committed to the camp. Too comfortable. Sorry team. I am not worthy of the conversation = you are not worthy of my vote.

Something has been forgotten during the years of enjoying the destination – having forgotten the journey. I am a stop along that journey that you decided to forego. I plan to recognize your lack of effort by a change of opinion on my ballot. Surprise! Your vote just evaporated.

About Diary of a Changed Woman

Living a blessed life in Canada with my husband on the beautiful shores of Lake Huron. I work as a Human Resources consultant to small business. I love my family - our grandchildren are the loves of my life. I'm a change agent personally and professionally. Change is what I'm about - no matter what!
This entry was posted in Daily Walk. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

