Let It Go…

It has been a long while since I sat down to write ANYTHING. I’ve battled with my thoughts and emotions endlessly throughout this bumpy journey called a ‘year’. I have seen God do some incredible things – in particular, my precious husband has had health restored (mostly). This, by itself, is a huge praiseworthy item.

I have seen God provide for us on beautiful Lake Huron in very mysterious ways. When I say ‘provide’, I’m not really just singling out the payment of our exorbitant hydro bills, either (although God has done that). He has provided emotional and spiritual rest. This has been huge in our lives this year. PEACE. Elusive peace. JOY. Unspeakable joy. LOVE. Unfettered and authentic love. I have rested well in His arms. He has provided all that we have needed. I have been restored spiritually and emotionally.

Once I understood that driving with a rear view mirror only will cause the car to crash – I began to clear the fog on the windshield and move forward ever so slowly to a destination of rest in God. But first…I needed to LET IT GO. Whatever ‘it’ might be…it needed to be wiped away so that my front view windshield was clear enough to journey onward.

‘It’ was bound in disappointment, unrealized goals,  broken dreams, unmet expectations, lost plans. And God had to teach me to LET IT GO. When each day would dawn and I realized I was gifted to be together with my beloved in a place where the ‘boundary lines have fallen in pleasant places’ (Psalm 16) I gave honour to God by stepping forward in His plan for the day. I wanted to know Him more. I definitely wanted to make Him more known. This was my focus for each day. Knowing Him. Making Him known. When whispers and doubts crept in…I chose to remind myself of God and His all knowing character. We held each other, while holding on to Him. I worked diligently to LET IT GO.

I have learned that once I chose safety in God, that He was my strength. Only then could I see I could give my battle to God and He would do everything else. No matter what. I could lie down and sleep because in Him alone was there any safety at all. With  sweet surrender, my restoration was completely at the hands of my Creator. However, it was a choice. I had to LET IT GO.

While at the beginning of 2016, my prayer was for God to make my pain count, He graciously responded with daily lessons about surrendering my hurt to Him. The grip I felt  I had on my life was released and placed into the loving hands of the Only One Who could rescue me. So, my precious readers, it’s been a bumpy, joyous journey through this year. As I stand literally and figuratively on the shore, my HOPE for 2017 can be placed in God – who for the past many decades has proven Himself to be always faithful to me. I have LET IT GO  and I don’t want it back! I love my sleep too much.

Matthew 11:28 ‘Come unto me all you who are weary and burdened and I will give you rest.’

 

About Diary of a Changed Woman

Living a blessed life in Canada with my husband on the beautiful shores of Lake Huron. I work as a Human Resources consultant to small business. I love my family - our grandchildren are the loves of my life. I'm a change agent personally and professionally. Change is what I'm about - no matter what!
This entry was posted in Daily Walk. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Let It Go…

  1. Don and Sherry Arsenault says:

    A happy blessing to read 😊 Happy New Year our friends.

Leave a Reply

