Make It Count

The last page was written in the concluding chapter of the ‘Book of 2015’. It wasn’t an easy book to complete. There was illness, deep pain, sorrow, challenge, and never ending heartache. My beloved and I have never experienced anything like it in our entire marriage. But GOD…was there.

In the valley, He carried us many times when we couldn’t walk. He wrapped us securely in His loving arms of rest when we were so tired we couldn’t speak. He bound up our wounds in His love, when we were in such pain, we were overwhelmed. We fellowshipped with our precious Father through our suffering.

We experienced His Presence like never before. He was with us in every moment. He wiped our tears. He has never given up on us. He spoke words of truth into our crushed spirits.

The Lake House on Huron is our sanctuary where we have drawn aside and rested. We have read Scripture, prayed together, built fires, walked the beach and hosted more people than we can count around our table. Strangers have become friends, friends have drawn closer and we have been surrounded in love. The kind of love that provides life to the weary. A cup of cold water to refresh our parched spirits has been offered.

As a result, we are ready. Ready to continue waiting on God’s direction for our lives. Waiting for Him to teach us today about His mercy and grace. Waiting for Him to lead us toward His glorious plan. But…while we are waiting…and as we close the book on 2015, it is our prayer that God will take the pain and MAKE IT COUNT.

We want to make it count in our growth. We pray it will count as we empathize with others in their time of need. We pray it will count as we love our neighbours enough to tell them about the amazing Good News of Jesus Christ. We want to make it count in our family – appreciating them and loving them like never before.  We want to make it count in our marriage, as we have tenderly supported one another through everything.

We know that God will not waste this pain. We are different people. God has used this time to refine us and bring us into greater conformity to Him. We are very thankful for it all. For every beautiful intruder that has become ours, we give thanks. And we mean it. “He has all things beautiful in His time.” Ecclesiastes 3:10 (New International Version)

We feel fit and healthy to start 2016 in our spirits. God, in His mercy, has nurtured us and we trust in His grace for this day in 2016. While we don’t know what is in the future, we do have great confidence in our God who is with us always.

“I’m not saying I have this all together, that I have it made. But I am well on my way, reaching out for Christ, who has so wondrously reached out for me. Friends, don’t get me wrong: by no means do I count myself an expert in all of this, but I’ve got my eye on the goal, where God is beckoning us onward – to Jesus. I’m off and running and I’m not turning back.” Philippians 3: 12-14 (The Message)

About Diary of a Changed Woman

Living a blessed life in Canada with my husband on the beautiful shores of Lake Huron. I work as a Human Resources consultant to small business. I love my family - our grandchildren are the loves of my life. I'm a change agent personally and professionally. Change is what I'm about - no matter what!
This entry was posted in Grace Notes, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

