Finding God in Groceries and Gladiolas

While it bothers me to admit it, I can be very stubborn. If I have decided on a certain course of action, then I must complete it without opposition.

I wanted to buy a ham in Michigan for a picnic we were hosting with our small group from church. I love a good bargain with groceries as it enables me to buy more, so that we can share more with others. We drove 20 minutes to the border area but noticed immediately that there was significant traffic. So congested, that upon checking the web for the update, it would take almost 2 hours simply to cross the bridge. That wasn’t going to work, since my beloved sidekick was inferring that the time spent was not worthwhile.

I was completely exasperated in the moment. I had ‘a list’. I had ‘a plan’. Now it was foiled. I used the ‘Return to Canada’ lane and headed back towards home. Knowing I had to re-calibrate my plan was totally frustrating. In the moment, I couldn’t even think straight because it meant starting over, when I had been thinking about it for a while. I felt overwhelmed in the moment. My desire was altruistic, get some great food for a great price. Now what?

My beloved was trying to offer some words of helpfulness and encouragement. I wasn’t receiving them at all. My thoughts were racing with ‘what now’? I felt compelled we must to go to No Frills. Start small and expand from there, I thought. So it was….the grocery store parking lot was quite empty, making me feel a little peaceful in this storm.

I entered the store and one of my favourite flowers was being sold in bunches for $8.00. GLADIOLAS – big, bold, beautiful colours. Right then and there, I stopped and smiled. I felt like God beckoning me further into the store so that He could show me how He would provide what I needed, on HIS agenda. I stood there and thanked Him for the flowers. They made their way into the cart.

My next stop was ‘meat’ for it formed the basis of the rest of the meal. A major sale was happening with ground beef – I had to stop, load it in my cart and say ‘thank you Lord’ for showing me how to get started on this meal. God is my Provider! With each step, my confidence grew – in God. He provided lemons, and chip dip and relish….all for great prices….I hadn’t left the produce area, but I felt God so near, that I was smiling at how He was leading me through the store. No list necessary, just an open heart to hear Him speak to me through the groceries and the gladiolas.

The task was completed without bridge traffic and time wasted. Money was spent wisely. Lots of food was provided. The outcome two days later? The fellowship was sweet. The Lord’s name was lifted high. No one even knew that the sidelined trip to Michigan was so that I could find God among the groceries and the glads. I rejoiced as I was reminded of Matthew 6:8 ‘your Father knows what you need before you ask Him.’

About Diary of a Changed Woman

Living a blessed life in Canada with my husband on the beautiful shores of Lake Huron. I work as a Human Resources consultant to small business. I love my family - our grandchildren are the loves of my life. I'm a change agent personally and professionally. Change is what I'm about - no matter what!
This entry was posted in Bible Verse of the Day. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

