Central Europe 2014….Interrupted…For A Year

We packed our bags for Germany, Austria and Czech Republic in June 2014, landed in Frankfurt on June 24, 2014 and wrote one blog piece for our two week adventure. Life happened swiftly, sharply, abruptly, sadly, joyfully, and as life can be….unexpectedly.

It has been my heart’s desire to complete our motorcycle trip through parts of Central Europe for some time now and I decided the best way to honour this blessing of travel was to celebrate the anniversary of our departure and blog through every day as I recorded it in my travel journal.

For those of you who are interested in motorcycle travel in Europe – I recommend you hire my beloved to plan the trip, make your hotel reservations and be your guide. We do look to Rick Steeves a little – but my guy has taken me on some unheard of adventures through Italy, Spain, Andorra, France, Portugal and now Germany, Austria and Czech Republic! He plans the details of motorcycle travel (meaning one outfit per rider, helmet, leather jackets, GPS and that’s about it) for a 10 day excursion through beauty, rustic places to stay, and unimaginable heights and curves in the Pyrenees, Alps and Tuscan hills. We experience glorious highs and nail biting lows each and every day. One thing is for sure – you need to be on the same page as motorcyclists or you could find yourself in a precarious situation.

If you dare to travel with a piece of luggage that’s so small – some ladies might call it a make-up bag – and an appetite for adventure travel – hop on the bike with us and come along for the next two weeks while we explore the Alps and classical music concerts all along the way in the land of Mozart, Strauss, Von Trapp Family and Dvorak.

We eat in grocery stores, beautiful restaurants, biergartens and street food in the name of finding experiences in ‘cuisine’. We pretend to know a little German, don’t even try with Czech, point and say ‘Canada’ a lot and laugh at ourselves constantly. The people are warm and friendly (sounds clichĂ©, doesn’t it?) and so helpful everywhere we go. We only hope that if they come to Canada, they will experience the same hospitality we enjoyed while visiting their countries.

We love to share stories of our travels, so if you are an armchair motorcyclist – let’s go together – because I am writing this from my armchair on the shores of Lake Huron, remembering fondly my two weeks last summer on a Harley Classic flying through the hills with the sound of music.

About Diary of a Changed Woman

Living a blessed life in Canada with my husband on the beautiful shores of Lake Huron. I work as a Human Resources consultant to small business. I love my family - our grandchildren are the loves of my life. I'm a change agent personally and professionally. Change is what I'm about - no matter what!
This entry was posted in Central Europe 2014. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

