The Letter

Proverbs 25:25 ‘Good news from a far country is like water to the thirsty’

It wasn’t from a far country…but it was from far away. An envelope arrived in my rural mailbox recently. It contained a 36 year old note and a brand spanking new note – written on neon pink paper that might have been produced in the 70’s.

It was a cozy afternoon on the lake. I sat down in a comfy chair to relish the reading. A friend WROTE me a letter! Not a text. Not an email. Not a Facebook message. An old fashioned letter. It was written in her beautiful ‘cursive’ writing. This form of communication is a lost art. The generations behind me will have to take special university classes in order to read cursive writing as it is no longer taught in school. A three page, hand written letter. This is a wonder. I appreciate such things because as a person who journals regularly – I know the time it takes to write thoughtful words by hand.

The letter shared so many encouraging words. Words of friendship from long ago that has been rekindled. It shared words of heartache. It told of updates in life at this ‘age and stage’. It shared history of a by gone time as it reminisced about parents. It was completely full of words. Words of love, kindness, hope. Healing words.

Proverbs 16:24 ‘Gracious words are like a honeycomb – sweetness to the soul and health to the body.’

Yes – words can be so positive and life giving. I sat there for a long time and re-read the letter. I savoured each sentence and closed my eyes – recalling the writer with great affection. Time and distance no longer existed in the moment. I connected with her bright pink letter on so many levels.

It was highly unexpected – the letter came because she found a 36 year handwritten note pertaining to our wedding banns. She found it in a volume belonging to her dad, who has now passed away. Happenstance? I don’t think so. Divine appointment? Absolutely! A small 3″ x 6″ piece of paper found after 36 years and there is still a connection between the writer and the intended? God is so good to me.

It was very special to receive the note written so long ago to become part of my wedding archives. It was incredible to receive the letter. Lovingly written by a lady who is so very dear. I cherish the thought that our friendship has spanned time and distance to bring us together again through the price of postage and the passage of some time.

I am humbled that someone would take the time to actually do that for me. I was uplifted in that very moment. Overwhelmed, really. I was deeply thankful.

New from a far away place is a very welcome event. I will continue to pursue this lost art along with my dear friend. We are now re-connected through the electronic world – and that is an amazing thing; but, through words written on a page – we have sealed it and it is now ‘put in writing’.

About Diary of a Changed Woman

Living a blessed life in Canada with my husband on the beautiful shores of Lake Huron. I work as a Human Resources consultant to small business. I love my family - our grandchildren are the loves of my life. I'm a change agent personally and professionally. Change is what I'm about - no matter what!
This entry was posted in Friendship Blessings. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

