Something Old…Something New

It’s amazing how time has passed to the point that my beloved and I are celebrating 36 years of marriage. You accumulate the years like notches on a growth chart and before you know it – a very long line is before your eyes. We are marvelling at what God has done.

It was a simple day, really. We live on a beautiful beach upon the equally spectacular Lake Huron. If it were a sunny day, the celebration of choice would have been very simple – go to the beach for coffee. On a gloomy, rainy day then how would we mark the day? We chose to spend lots of time together in conversation about life as we know it. Breakfast becomes lunch and before you know it the afternoon is here. Hours melt away with my beloved. We have no trouble spending time together. As a matter of fact, its becoming a little more problematic when we have to be apart for any length of time.

A long standing dream we had during our ‘city years’ was to own a canoe. We were able to fulfil that longstanding dream as part of our anniversary celebration. There are days when the lake is so glassy smooth and we would always say – wouldn’t it be lovely to canoe on it? So in the near future, once delivered, we will check that desire from our bucket list. That is a huge blessing!

Meanwhile, my beloved, ever the sweet and kind guy, had thought ahead and had a card ready for me. This was not just any card, let me tell you. Some of you may be aware of his love of giving cards for encouragement or some occasion to be marked. Our anniversary is no exception. He was a little sheepish when handing me the card and said, ‘you’ll have to excuse its condition, I had it tucked away for awhile.’ I said ‘where in your tool box?’ He said ‘maybe’…the card looked a little disheveled, but the message on it was absolutely beautiful. It expressed sentiments around me being ‘the one’ for him – you know sweet, mushy anniversary message.

This one was with a twist.

He had purchased it in 1999! When he attended a conference in Wisconsin in January – he purchased the card and put it ‘away’ someplace ‘safe’ for our April 1999 anniversary (it would have been our 20th). However, my beloved being a man of mega storage, simply put the card in safekeeping for 16 years!

The best part about this lovely card is that the message he wished to convey in 1999 is still true! I am so blessed. We have a loving relationship that has stood the test of time. I couldn’t imagine life without him and according to the message in the card, he feels exactly the same way.

I was overcome with emotion as I looked at the card that had been pressure treated in the tool box. Our relationship has been pressure treated as well. The card was filled with a sweet message. Our relationship is filled with sweetness too. This is memento that I will treasure. It’s one for the record books. A canoe after 36 years and a 16 year old card. A day to remember and treasure.

About Diary of a Changed Woman

Living a blessed life in Canada with my husband on the beautiful shores of Lake Huron. I work as a Human Resources consultant to small business. I love my family - our grandchildren are the loves of my life. I'm a change agent personally and professionally. Change is what I'm about - no matter what!
This entry was posted in My One and Only Beloved Husband. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

