Fresh Starts

It’s been a long time…a really long time. Life can send you on detours that are beyond your wildest imagination. My detour has lasted a year, basically. While an explanation might seem fitting, to replay the ‘DVD’ of my history won’t really move me forward. It’s Spring 2015. We’ve just celebrated the Resurrection. New Life. New Beginnings. It a nutshell, that’s where I am right now.

God has chosen to direct my path to the beautiful shores of Lake Huron. What a change. Many marvel, when told I lived for almost 30 years in the Greater Toronto Area (GTA).

Life on the lake is very different. ‘Good – different’, I tell people (although grammatically improper). A change in pace, and in perspective that I would never have imagined possible, until it happened in a most unexpected manner. Seasonal progression is now marked by when the lake freezes, or when it’s ‘open’. The time of day is marked by sunrise and sunset. Whatever happens in between is…well…LIFE.

Incredible though it feels at times, there is time to cook, read, walk, sleep, work all without TRAFFIC! I feel like I have reclaimed a huge portion of my life all because I’m not parked on a highway somewhere in Ontario waiting to arrive at my destination. I’m simply here. Where I belong. All the time.

Some of you who know me well, know I’ve been pursuing peace for a very long time. It seemed elusive. There are many reasons for that, some important, most completely unimportant reasons. Here’s the big reveal of the day – who knew peace lived on the shores of Lake Huron?

I’ve been here six months. My recovery is taking time. It will take a lot more time. For me, it’s a huge step forward to be able to sit down and actually begin to write on my blog again. A love lost and reclaimed, like driftwood. A piece of wood floating, weathered, softened and maybe useful, maybe not.

I’ve written four unpublished books for my children and grandchildren. I’ve written them in an ‘old school’ format – in my hand, on paper. So each book is not only original writings, but it is truly one of a kind. My writings in this space are being sent to the wind. It will toss about the good and the bad like it does in my back yard space – (Yes, I have a back yard! A front yard! A side yard!) Perhaps this writing might reach you in place where you need it. It might capture your imagination about travel. You might see how much I love my beloved husband, precious daughters and grandchildren. You might see how badly I need to vent my thoughts. You hopefully will see beyond the shadow of a doubt that I love God and depend upon Him daily. However this rolls out, please know I am doing this from a purely selfish point of view. It is my intent to continue to capture my rambling thoughts about ‘my foibles, my faith and my family’. To God Be The Glory

About Diary of a Changed Woman

Living a blessed life in Canada with my husband on the beautiful shores of Lake Huron. I work as a Human Resources consultant to small business. I love my family - our grandchildren are the loves of my life. I'm a change agent personally and professionally. Change is what I'm about - no matter what!
This entry was posted in Lake Life. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Fresh Starts

  1. Melanie Nestor says:

    Thank you sweet friend! Beautiful!

  2. Rita Mary says:

    Beautiful…. thank you for sharing your heart here Jayne…God is good to restore all that has been lost as He continually calms us in some very raging storms. Blessings to you my sweet sister in Christ. ❤

Leave a Reply

