Courageous Mountaineering Will Yield A Spanish Spa…I Promise

Following our now monotonous breakfast for 20 euros, we interacted with the Americanized hotelier at the Princess and mailed a postcard to our Grandson. We were fortified with lots of coffee (the one benefit of these petit dejeuners) and felt we could begin to venture towards Villefranche Confluent. We meandered through the little shops and found another monument erected to the memory of children who were murdered during the time of the Resistance. I picked some delicate lavender and pressed it by my precious poppies. Truly the memento that money cannot buy.

My Beloved told me we are ‘away from the mountains’ – and I am relieved to be done with the ‘big stuff’ or so I thought. My reward is two days at a Spanish resort in Rosas –  a pink ruby tucked into a small bay on the Mediterranean. Upon arrival – the village lived up to its name we drove a long boulevard of pink roses to the resort. My Beloved’s perfect puzzle of planning hit a small snag when we were informed that our sea view room was already delegated. The good natured front desk clerk wanted us to take a lesser room. My Beloved, ever the negotiator was able to convince the good natured front room clerk to include food for the duration of our stay.

With everything settled, we hit the beach and soaked in our first taste of the Mediterranean. Delicious. What we discovered subsequent to this was that seniors were everywhere. This resort was inhabited by numerous senior bus tours! We had lots of laughs, particularly at ourselves, for being part of early summer senior season. Everyone dresses up for the meals and they change clothes for their post dinner activities as well. As motorcyclists, we certainly don’t have access to senior resort wear and we laugh at ourselves all the more.

We stroll on the boardwalk while the Mediterranean twinkled toward the darkening sky. The alabaster villas in the distance started twinkling like stars on the hillside. It was peaceful, pleasant and very special.

We thoroughly enjoyed this beautiful day for the grand total of $72.50.

About Diary of a Changed Woman

Living a blessed life in Canada with my husband on the beautiful shores of Lake Huron. I work as a Human Resources consultant to small business. I love my family - our grandchildren are the loves of my life. I'm a change agent personally and professionally. Change is what I'm about - no matter what!
This entry was posted in France 2013. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

