Prequel to Paris

Prequel to Paris (En Route)

The preparation involved in a trip to Europe under ‘ordinary’ circumstances is very detailed. The preparation for a motorcycle trip in Europe is detailed to the 100th power for us, the slightly inexperienced, but adventurous traveler.

As I sit down and position myself on my Air France flight my mind is racing – not to France and the adventure waiting to unfold before me but beyond France. What’s next, I wonder? Will there be a ‘next’ even? These trips are challenging. The planning, preparation and execution require thoughtful, engaged tour operators. I briefly weigh the option of a cruise or a resort and while I haven’t experienced either one, no matter how wonderful they may be…my heart is firmly across the Atlantic for now.

I would not say the objective is to relax but more to the development of our personal ‘amazing race’ (senior edition J) ability. Travelling makes me feel truly alive and interested in what’s happening around me.

As I fuss with my personal interactive screen and settle in more I am still pondering about this trip. Did we choose well? My Beloved, the ever present, supportive partner that he is, completely planned this trip. He poured over hotels, routes, destinations for hours during the freezing cold evenings of our spring. He triumphed over securing beach fronts and walking distance locations. He proudly showed me the mountain locations and mused over the ‘tour de France’ about to unfold via Harley Davidson. I chose well, in that I feel very safe with my Beloved. His continuous care of this trip is almost a work of art. Each ‘leg’ of the race has been documented on paper and now we need to see it unfold before us – dealing with roadblocks, route changes, and rabble-rousers along the way.

It’s time for me to settle back, eat the inflight meal and try to catch a nap before I enter sensory overload. In a travel partnership, there is trust and a few ground rules. We have that securely stowed in our hearts as we cross the Atlantic for another round of European Union vacation via Harley.

About Diary of a Changed Woman

Living a blessed life in Canada with my husband on the beautiful shores of Lake Huron. I work as a Human Resources consultant to small business. I love my family - our grandchildren are the loves of my life. I'm a change agent personally and professionally. Change is what I'm about - no matter what!
This entry was posted in France 2013. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

