Transition for Departure Day 13 Portugal

Transition days in a foreign country can be very challenging. Although with any day we should expect the unexpected, transition days when travelling bring change no matter what. We needed to pack and depart early for the 3 hour drive to Lisboa. Once there, we checked into our airport hotel, stowed our luggage, returned the car and do something to mark the end of successful travel across the Portuguese landscape.

With a few route changes and some gas stops (about $2.25 per litre) – on our tentative landing gear we make our way to the Radisson Airport Lisboa. Posted rate for the poor people like us was 200 euros, My Beloved, the Hotwire guru got it for $85.00 Canadian – a total deal. We are ‘getting the job done’ all in God’s mercy – next task – the final navigational challenge to Europcar. We were tempted to bribe hotel personnel to come with us, just like on the final leg of the Amazing Race on TV. Putting on a brave face, we determined to finish well, and off we go to central Lisboa. With a carefully executed turn and 7 kilometres into the drive – we are there! We exhale! A few pleasantries exchanged and like a local Lisboan (with some simple instructions from the car rental attendant), we hailed our cab to the next rest stop.

What to do on a lovely Lisboa afternoon – so many retail opportunities – so little time and luggage space.

Based upon the recommendation of another very helpful front desk clerk, we decided to have one more encounter with Vasco de Gama, this time a massive mall erected in his honour on the banks of the Teja River. Three floors, Portuguese and North American flavours converge. We step outside of our senses and stop at McDonald’s for a quick bite and a laugh. Vasco de Gama Mall is Eaton Centre on steriods. ‘Get out of my way’ is how we decided to step aside. The Portuguese seem to be on a mission and standing there will not deter them.

We found the long sought after soap made in Portugal, made some more thoughtful purchases and decided to make our way to wind down and prepare for our 4:30 A.M. departure. i love just being with My Beloved. We watched a movie, chatted, read, hung out – it was fantastic being together with nothing else to do and nowhere else to be for the rest of the day.

Admittedly it was a little hard going to sleep as I was excited to make the journey home. I miss my kids, grandkids, friends, cat…I guess suffice it to say the adventure was fantastic, but I am ready for real life.

As we close this day, number 13, we are so thankful for each other. I looked at My Beloved and quoted Song of Solomon ‘this is My Beloved and this is My Friend’. There is no one on this earth equal to him. He did so much to make this trip happen and his easy, calm demeanor makes everyday a pleasant day simply because he is there. No matter if we are at a 5 star resort or eating a sandwich on the beach at sunset – everything about the comfort and company of My Beloved, My Friend is a blessing from the Lord.

About Diary of a Changed Woman

Living a blessed life in Canada with my husband on the beautiful shores of Lake Huron. I work as a Human Resources consultant to small business. I love my family - our grandchildren are the loves of my life. I'm a change agent personally and professionally. Change is what I'm about - no matter what!
This entry was posted in Portugal 2012. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

