Hasta Le Vista Portugal – Day 14

Our bodies stirred before the alarm – we’re excited to complete our Portuguese honeymoon/adventure. Local time – 4 A.M. Canadian time 11 P.M. (the night before). Hopefully we will transition back quickly. It was a peaceful start to the beginning of the day – drank some water, dressed, and wrangled the bags to the lobby to hail a cab. Once we stepped outside, our driver was waiting and with a quick ‘aeroporto’ we were off – QUICKLY!We arrived at the airport and our driver cum Mario Andretti jumped out and smiled and gave My Beloved a hug! ‘Typical’ Portuguese, once again. Warm, kind, helpful. Nothing typical at all! (The Portuguese are humble, self deprecating people. They dismiss their talent and heart with ‘typico’). This was our farewell to two wonderful weeks rubbing shoulders in a place where our Portuguese vocabulary was limited, but their hospitality was unmatched.

One of the symbols of welcome on many flags that fly is an infinity heart with the word ‘Ola’ – it really expresses the welcome to Portugal as open-ended, unlimited. They are truly glad that you chose to visit them in their home country.

The airport at Lisboa is not very large so it was navigable. We did the ‘typical’ things while waiting. Check in was smooth and we were off in search of breakfast number 1. Searched for coffee and more water…finally on board and taking off, my own sense of tiredness is on temporary hold as I have the bird’s eye view of ‘lovely Lisboa’ from the sky.

The glorious Teja River flowing towards the Atlantic…I crane my neck to see as much as I can – wanting to freeze the final memories…in my mind. I’m grateful, and wistful.

Hasta le vista Portugal, this will never be forgotten. Our Portuguese honeymoon can be checked on our travel ‘bucket list’. Beloved – what is our next destination? 🙂

About Diary of a Changed Woman

Living a blessed life in Canada with my husband on the beautiful shores of Lake Huron. I work as a Human Resources consultant to small business. I love my family - our grandchildren are the loves of my life. I'm a change agent personally and professionally. Change is what I'm about - no matter what!
This entry was posted in Portugal 2012. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Hasta Le Vista Portugal – Day 14

  1. Carol G says:

    thanks for taking me on a journey back to Portugal…one day I will get there again.

Leave a Reply

