Day 5 Portugal – More of the Same, but Not to be Taken for Granted

Nothing in particular is the theme for this day. more clearly defined in a word – beach. We breakfasted on the patio, collected our things and headed back to Praia Nova – a 10 minute walk and 100 foot descent. So worth it. The adjoining beach (Algarve has about 100 miles of beach) is Praia Senhora de Rocha. I call it ‘the commercial beach’. People pack in as if its the Portuguese Riviera due to the commercial support with restaurants, and activities.

Nova takes effort and will, but so peaceful. We had transported our beach chairs, purchased in North Carolina, with us in our luggage. I had my e-reader with lots of reading choices and My Beloved brought 2 books, our water jug, sunscreen and are set! Sitting at Atlantic Ocean edge with the water lapping aorund us was incredibly refreshing. Laying on wet sandbeing teased by the inference of incoming tide was dreamlike. Every now and again a bigger wave would push through and urge you to move up on shoreline. Hour upon delicious hour was whiled away reading, snorkeling and people watching. Like sea lions, we sunned – we cooled – we sunned once more. Feeling the need for some food, we packed up and headed back for a short break and to make dinner plans.

tonight’s menu – pork burgers and a little leftover pasta with fresh fruit. The pork is lean and yet ever so juicy. We burned a candle on our balcony and sat under the moonlit sky listening to the cacophony of portuguese childrenn running aorund after their day at the beach. They stay up late, sleep late, beach late and repeat the process the next day. It reminds us of our precious grandson and how much fun he would have with teaching English and learning Portuguese in the parking lot of the complex while all of us drank coffee and referreed.

With the moon and stars bright in the sky, I am comforted knowing I am connected to to my loved ones through this ‘via point’ on the GPS of my life. There are a lot of roads to travel, God willing, but hopefully the destinations will be dotted with ‘via points’ (GPS terminology for a side trip) of time with daughters, sons in law, time with grandchildren, time with friends and time with anyone who wishes to have time with me.

About Diary of a Changed Woman

Living a blessed life in Canada with my husband on the beautiful shores of Lake Huron. I work as a Human Resources consultant to small business. I love my family - our grandchildren are the loves of my life. I'm a change agent personally and professionally. Change is what I'm about - no matter what!
This entry was posted in Portugal 2012. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

