Carrying the Weight of the World…On My Back

Being the author of ‘bright ideas’, the thought occurred to me that for every pound of weight I lose, I should put that pound in a bag and carry it on my back during my daily walk. My power walking around the lake has become a ‘piece of cake’ (figuratively, not literally) and so to add complexity, I decided to take empty water bottles, fill them, weight them to the appropriate amount and walk!

WOW! Harder breathing quickly, a little later my hip starts complaining, my shoulders are sore – no wonder I had a hard time moving a ‘few’ pounds ago. The impact of this seemingly small amount is not insignificant.

By the time I had finished my prerequisite time around the lake, I was sweating, breathing hard , but starting to settle into my new ‘weight gain’. How quickly it began to happen and how fast it happens when it’s real. It’s a very serious reminder to me that my health regimen is for keeps. How I need God to give me the strength for each day to focus and make right choices!
Weight gain occurs for so many reasons. Perhaps, excuses. Whatever you might think, it’s never easy for the individual who struggles on the ‘way up’ or on the ‘way down’. Family struggles, sadness, work stress, loss, responsibility too difficult to bear – all possibilities of why we attempt to soothe our troubles away with too many calories, too often every day. How often we take the problem on our body and neglect to give it to God.

What a blessing to reach home again and to be able to cast off the weight and rest. This is not only a poignant reminder to keep working hard to reach my goals, but I feel better, look better, move better. My joints enjoy the respite. It’s exhilarating and humbling at the same time. I wonder how much weight I will carry around the lake next year?

Hebrews 12:1 “Therefore, since we are surrounded by such a huge crowd of witnesses to the life of faith, let us strip off every weight that slows us down, especially the sin that so easily trips us up. And let us run with endurance the race God has set before us.”

About Diary of a Changed Woman

Living a blessed life in Canada with my husband on the beautiful shores of Lake Huron. I work as a Human Resources consultant to small business. I love my family - our grandchildren are the loves of my life. I'm a change agent personally and professionally. Change is what I'm about - no matter what!
This entry was posted in Bible Verse of the Day. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

