Footprints and Fresh Starts

The rhythm of life on the beach is like this – rise, dress, beach walk. The ocean maintains its own relentless rhythm – waves crashing constantly. Even in walking on the sand – there is a pattern. You take a step, make a footprint. When the tide rises, that footprint is washed away and the sand canvass is fresh all over again.

It’s interesting that from the point in time people used the beach as a form of recreation, sandcastles construction became an artform and ocean’s edge became an aerobic exercise studio. Many footprints lead the way in the morning (depending on the time you hit the sand). It struck me as I saw so many prints yesterday that while we are all making our ‘impressions’ at that moment in time, that with the next tidal cycle, we will have another opportunity to create a brand new impression. A fresh start.

This visual was so encouraging. We always say ‘it’s a new day’, but to see it on the shore created a bigger impact for me. I get to go and see that nothing exists on the sand canvas from yesterday. I make today’s contribution and walk away. Tomorrow – same story.

If I could simply remember this when I return to my concrete jungle.

Every where I go, I know I create an impression. And in case I try to kid myself – the impression lasts on concrete too. Concrete hearts. Concrete minds. Concrete attitudes. I cannot rely upon the faithful ocean to erase the impression. Therefore, the steps I take when I return need to be purposeful. I know we can ‘press the reset button’, but the impression still remains.

Sobering for a morning walk where my footprint creates a fresh start. May each new day with it’s fresh start create a footprint that brings meaning and purpose to my life and those I touch.

About Diary of a Changed Woman

Living a blessed life in Canada with my husband on the beautiful shores of Lake Huron. I work as a Human Resources consultant to small business. I love my family - our grandchildren are the loves of my life. I'm a change agent personally and professionally. Change is what I'm about - no matter what!
This entry was posted in Daily Walk. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

