“I Have No Greater Joy”

Another Mother’s Day. I’m in North Carolina. My children are in Canada. We use this time of year to recharge our batteries on the beautiful beaches of the Outer Banks. The one downside is I miss my daughters. We’ve shared so many occasions together that something seems awry when we are not together. My Beloved is with me always, providing smiles, comfort, love. He is a steadfast companion. He asks me ‘Am I enough?’ I assure him I am fine, but he helps me navigate the calling card and the condo phone so that my circle of life for today is complete. First Daughter 2, then Daughter 1. I love listening to them tell me about their life – a great meal, a nice walk, the latest about our coming grandbaby, and church. A common theme between us – ‘how we serve the Lord’.

In the church service in North Carolina, the pastor closed with a reassurance that made me think about my own mom and my daughters. He said that if we have a mom who is in Heaven today, we need to know she is proud of us because we are sitting in church. The thought that my mom is proud of me for this made me feel very happy as I walked away from the service. I started to think about my daughters and how we have served the Lord from their very early years. They have always been faithful to the tasks of serving in their local church. They have never wavered. No matter how big or small – they have been serving in a local church. Their tiny hands have straightened hymnbooks and moved chairs. They welcomed visitors, made other children feel welcome. The list is long – music for the service, nursery, teaching, VBS, to name a few. I cannot remember a complaint. They have blessed other ministries with their faithfulness as well.

They are grown women with families of their own now, but their faithfulness continues to this day. They are tremendous examples to our local faith family and to their own family. Beyond that, they have blessed my heart in the deepest place possible – the place reserved for joy knowing they serve the Lord because they LOVE the Lord.

So at this time of year reserved for honouring mothers, as a mom, I wish to honour two very special moms – the two girls responsible for my place in this world – my precious daughters. I can confidently claim the verse ‘I have no greater joy to hear my children walk in truth’ (3 John 1:4).

About Diary of a Changed Woman

Living a blessed life in Canada with my husband on the beautiful shores of Lake Huron. I work as a Human Resources consultant to small business. I love my family - our grandchildren are the loves of my life. I'm a change agent personally and professionally. Change is what I'm about - no matter what!
This entry was posted in Bible Verse of the Day. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

