Going Home – A Tale of THREE Cities

Going Home…A Tale of Three Cities
It is never lost on me that even though I’ve made my home in Ontario for almost twenty five years, every time I make my home to either the East or the West for a visit, I will describe the visit as ‘going home’.
‘East’ because I was born and raised in a small village in New Brunswick. ‘West’ because we packed up our life in New Brunswick and moved to Minneapolis, Minnesota for seminary and ministry preparation.
In 2011, I had the opportunity to visit both places. East and West. Geographically very different. Emotionally – entirely different.
These two ‘homes’ are 2000 miles apart. In my heart, they are light years apart. For as much as many beloved family members reside in the East, there are many friends so dear in heart who became our family in Minnesota. We were strangers in another country, yet we were welcomed into the new adventure with love and open arms. It’s strange that in our place of birth, we reside, we exist, we work but there are lingering memories around that have created a box around that place in our hearts. The box is kept closed and only occasionally do we open it, review it, and put it away for another time. The box has happy moments, sad thoughts, and a disconnection, a connection that only Facebook can breathe some fresh air into it, to remove the sticky cobwebs.
When we go ‘Eastward’ – we a certain heaviness in heart, not even understanding the heaviness at times. However, this past summer, when it became clear we would need to unite in the Midwest for our annual motorcycle trip, I was excited.
As my plane taxied at the Minneapolis-St. Paul airport, my heart was ready to reconnect with the beauty in the Land of 10,000 Lakes. It was not actually the lakes that impressed us, but the kindness of the people living there. These are my impressions. It’s my own experiences as a young wife and mother. These people welcomed us into the fold of the seminary and came alongside for encouragement. They stood in the gap of friends left behind in Canada. They never wavered. When we completed our four years of seminary training and when the time came to pack up our tiny apartment and our tiny girls, we stood in the backyard watching the local bag lady search for useful treasures in the dumpster, we hugged each other and cried.
Our new home awaited us, back in Canada. As I am writing this twenty five years later, it’s my own tender feelings of each location as they been imbedded in my heart.
Ontario is where our children grew up, married and ultimately settled as well. It is here where we have ministered on the same city block. It is here where we have lived the largest part of our married lives. It would make sense that that this is where the biggest part of our heart is secured. Not so! We have had three significant places of residence. All have contributed to shaping us in significant ways. God has been in each location – guiding us, caring for us, protecting us. We have made our home in each location. We embraced ‘home is where you hang your heart’. Do we know where is next? No, of course not – but we do look forward to our final, perfect place of residence. ‘In my Father’s house are many mansions…I go to prepare a place for you.’ This is where our hearts’ desire resides, truly. A place where love and peace abounds – this is our true home.

About Diary of a Changed Woman

Living a blessed life in Canada with my husband on the beautiful shores of Lake Huron. I work as a Human Resources consultant to small business. I love my family - our grandchildren are the loves of my life. I'm a change agent personally and professionally. Change is what I'm about - no matter what!
This entry was posted in Bible Verse of the Day. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

