Humility is a Necessity

I was challenged in my thinking about grace today by my Number One Son in Love. We were speaking about difficult circumstances in life and how we need grace to abound. We discussed options in our approaches. The spiritual options, the fleshly options – trying to the ‘one size fits all’ option. Nothing satisfactory ensued in how to tackle our challenge. We have conversations when we simply have to say – ‘time out for a fleshly comment’ – and then we say how our emotions wish to respond. There is no judgment between us as we both know each other so well, that we understand the frustrations of coming to the answer that will not only work – but bring glory to God.

I have to say that when I feel misunderstood by people in general, I can count on this guy to simply ‘get it’. As we pushed around solutions and Bible verses, we parked on the concept of humility. I took a deep breath because this conversation will have ramifications for me. Am I ready for this?

In problem solving together, humility seems to be the only way we can make our path to the end of the tunnel. We discussed Paul, the Hebrew of the Hebrews, who knew how to both abound and be abased – and yet was content in whatever state he found himself. Then of course, the Ultimate Example, JESUS, came to this earth (lest I forget my Day 12 of the Twelve Days of Christmas), to SERVE, GIVE and DIE. The King of Kings! No complaints recorded.

Humility is so distasteful to us. Yet, how can I model Christ, how can I declare myself a Christ follower, if in fact humility is a foreign concept? How on earth did I get into this conversation today? This is rhetorical, AND I know the answer.

Humility is the backdrop of grace. They are not mutually exclusive concepts. I can demonstrate grace without humility as the foundation.

Grace as a concept, grace as a practice in 2012 is becoming more challenging in my life that I had anticipated. I wasn’t planning on humility as a subconcept. May God help me in my journey. Although some of this is written with a little rueful humour, those of you who might read this, may think to pray for me. If you truly know me, then you will know it is always my heart’s desire to be more like my Saviour. I don’t want regrets. I want victory.

About Diary of a Changed Woman

Living a blessed life in Canada with my husband on the beautiful shores of Lake Huron. I work as a Human Resources consultant to small business. I love my family - our grandchildren are the loves of my life. I'm a change agent personally and professionally. Change is what I'm about - no matter what!
This entry was posted in Grace Notes. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

