Hi Sweetie…

My Beloved planned a summer motorcycle adventure that took him from our home to Denver through the Rockies to Vancouver, B.C. This trip was considered ‘a bucket list’ trip – you know – the type of trip that is high on your priority list. It’s a trip that you have dreamed about for years and years – and for whatever the reasons, it simply couldn’t or didn’t happen.

He planned and plotted – the route, the places to stay, the packing list – everything to keep him comfortable on the road for three weeks before we saw each other again. I was concerned about his energy level and his security during the endless hours he would spend alone during this dream vacation with his 26 year old bike.
We discussed his route, where he would stay and how we would stay in touch.

I requested that he leave me voice mail three times each day. This would give me contact points in a 6 hour interval should anything unthinkable happen. He understood my concern – considering weather, the aging motorcycle, and any other factors beyond our imagination.

He was great about following through – and it kept my anxiety at bay. As the weeks wore on…I noticed a theme. Every voicemail (I saved them for days until I knew he well past that particular rest area) started with a very honeyed tone – ‘Hi Sweetie…I’m calling you from…’ So comforting, so assuring. First of all I’m his sweetie…no matter how many miles separate us, I’m ‘that girl’ for him. I have been ‘that girl’ for a very long time. How comforting. How loving. My Beloved is ‘that guy’ who is the centre of my heart. No matter how miles separate us – we are connected in heart. We think about each other, miss each other and cannot wait until that time we are together again, as long as God allows. We are so blessed to have this much time together on this earth. So many others are not so fortunate. We treasure our time together as a precious gift.

How I pray that the Lord allows us to spend many more years together. We are using what we have to serve God together and without the other person, it simply wouldn’t be the same. I love my sweetie…and ever so glad he feels exactly the same way!

About Diary of a Changed Woman

Living a blessed life in Canada with my husband on the beautiful shores of Lake Huron. I work as a Human Resources consultant to small business. I love my family - our grandchildren are the loves of my life. I'm a change agent personally and professionally. Change is what I'm about - no matter what!
This entry was posted in My One and Only Beloved Husband. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

