Human Doing or Human Being?

Busy…over scheduled…how many times do we say these things in response to a call to action in our daily lives?

Here I am in North Carolina curled up under a blanket while the enormous waves continuously pound the beach. I’m not busy at all. I am enjoying sweet fellowship with My Beloved. Sometimes we talk, sometimes we don’t. We snack. We snore…well need I say more? This behaviour may be ascribed as lazy and unprofitable. I would beg to differ.

My life as a professional, both in business and in support of My Beloved’s ministry is one that is out of balance. Busy. Overscheduled. A trophy of productivity? Hmmm….why do I feel so unsuccessful, if I am so productive. I am a HUMAN DOING…doing so many things, not really sure what will stick to the page of true productivity.

Here on the Outer Banks where parasails are taking advantage of the high winds, and workmen are scrambling to install protection for the eroding beaches…the days pass peacefully and simply. Time isn’t standing still, but it is so much more enjoyable to look at a clock without worry and panic for the list that needs to be accomplished doesn’t match the hours left in the day. No, here on the beach, a minute is a minute. We read. We pass time. We think. We are in the truest sense – HUMAN BEINGS. The art of being is lost in the world of production. It’s lost on a daily basis as we scramble through the day’s routines. We simply don’t know how to be human beings in the real world? Or do we? I have yet to answer the question for myself – but it greatly concerns me.

The longer I sit on the ocean watching the relentless surf, letting time pass, the more energy I gain from being as opposed to doing. How will I align my reality with my ‘getaway’ in a few short days? I have no desire to leave this state currently. The state of being. I love being able to pause and look at the Master’s ocean and to literally smell the coffee, as opposed to the stinky exhaust of the person in front of me at the drive thru while buying my coffee.

Putting away the grip of a human doing and embracing the life of a human being is a journey. I need to ensure I make my mark on a firm foundation. The ocean can wash away any footprints almost immediately.

About Diary of a Changed Woman

Living a blessed life in Canada with my husband on the beautiful shores of Lake Huron. I work as a Human Resources consultant to small business. I love my family - our grandchildren are the loves of my life. I'm a change agent personally and professionally. Change is what I'm about - no matter what!
This entry was posted in Daily Walk. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

