What does Titanic and My Mom Have in Common?

My Mom, Evelyn was born the day the Titanic sank! April 15, 1912. The most precious woman on earth to me, except she is no longer on earth. She is in Heaven with Jesus. I can picture enjoying peace and rest and beauty – all things she really needed when she lived on earth, but had precious little time to pursue.

What a story! She didn’t have to be my mom – she chose to be my mom. She had raised her sons during the Depression – a challenge greater than my imagination as a mom. We had a little money and times were challenging, but in this case she was working with rations and little boys. Incredible.

Even after all of that, with an ailing mom of her own, she took me as her daughter and raised me. I never get over the picture of God’s mercy in this regard. She loved me and gave me everything a little girl needs. She taught me how to bake a chocolate cake, knit scarves for my Barbie dolls, wash the stairs on Saturdays, pick strawberries and call the ladies to invite them to another baby shower.

My mom did all of that in between caring for her parents, cooking for boarders, managing the gardens, and the mounds of laundry that grew from Monday to Monday. She chose to care for me. Incredible. Never once did she complain about wanting peace and quiet. With a little girl running around, all Mom did was sew cute dresses, offer hugs without notice and smile at my newly dreamed antics.

My mom made sure I went to Sunday School every week. She supervised my homework. She organized my chore list.

As I flounced around with my grand schemes, Mom made sure I remained fastened to the earth. With her common sense and practical thinking, I learned how to manage money, make a meal, welcome visitors and be available to anyone who needs a listening ear.

My mom’s heart was one of pure gold. Her hands were always busy. Her love never failed me. The day she died, the earth stopped rotating and my heart was crushed beyond comprehension. I need my mom, but God needed her more.

Without my mom I felt a great disconnect from all things family and love. She was the centre of that for me. Her regular calls with tidbits of information from a life well lived were valuable and ever so important.

The Titanic sank and 1517 people died. BUT My MOM Evelyn was BORN on the very same day – and her very full life of lessons and love filled the world – my world with contributions significant enough to carry on through the generations.

Psalm 119:90 your faithfulness endures through all generations.

Love you Mom – Happy Mother’s Day in Heaven!

About Diary of a Changed Woman

Living a blessed life in Canada with my husband on the beautiful shores of Lake Huron. I work as a Human Resources consultant to small business. I love my family - our grandchildren are the loves of my life. I'm a change agent personally and professionally. Change is what I'm about - no matter what!
This entry was posted in Daily Walk. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

