When Peace Like a River – I Mean Ocean…

May 6, 2011

The hypnotic effect of the ocean once again was successful through the night – door wide open – the pounding waves was the sound to which we slept and awoke. Streaks of light through the room teased me to the patio – where once again the bottle green water enticed me to sit and be still.

We stocked the pantry to ensure we don’t have to miss a minute of the music. It’s so restorative to putter about in the kitchen with TIME to create simple meals to be consumed on the patio. Life at this moment is so pure. So simple. So quiet. While a puff pancake and peaches are turning golden in the oven, the liquid gold of a steaming cup of coffee is en route to my patio chair.

More puttering yields comforting soup and bread for consumption after our ‘hours long’ beach walk and nap.

We packed some blankets, water, fruit and books and headed to the beach. The sun is encouraging a shorter walk and a longer nap. We comply. Lulled again only by ocean waves, we slept, read, slept some more – day 2 – we need this rest so badly. Noshing on fruit, people watching – we observed a beach wedding in the distance. We rejoiced together about God’s goodness in providing us with one another so long ago. Long time best friends hanging out at the beach as we always liked to do.

Eventually we have enough energy to put on our shoes and mosey back to the condo for lunch – at 4:30. Multiple naps and reading make us realize lunch is not lunch – its now dinner. We are sitting reading, chatting, sharing and planning how to spend the next sun filled days that stretch before us. While we round out the evening over a piece of key lime pie, we are musing about our plans for church and how the week will unfold.

‘When peace like a river attendeth my way, when sorrows like sea billows roll. Whatever my lot Thou hast taught me to say, it is well, it is well with my soul…’ Horatio Spafford 1873

About Diary of a Changed Woman

Living a blessed life in Canada with my husband on the beautiful shores of Lake Huron. I work as a Human Resources consultant to small business. I love my family - our grandchildren are the loves of my life. I'm a change agent personally and professionally. Change is what I'm about - no matter what!
This entry was posted in Daily Walk. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

