Sisters at Heart

As you know, I grew up as a ‘lonely only’. No siblings. It was okay most of the time, but there were times, especially as I grew older, that I really wanted a sister.

When I gave birth to baby number 2, I was excited it was a girl. We have a sister for baby number 1. I thrilled as I observed them bond over the days, months and years. Sisters – my dream come true. I will admit to being jealous at times.

Through our lives, there have been people in and out that have been very close to me -almost close enough to be considered family. God blessed me a number of years ago with a friend who is definitely more than a friend – I would call her my ‘sister at heart’.

We share so many things. The lives of our kids. Love of all things cooking. A listening ear. A hug. We count on one another for encouragement and advice. Just how I envision my real life sister would be for me. Imagine a girlhood dream coming true? It happened with my sister at heart.

So, when life deals a severe blow to the sister you love, something inside of your heart snaps. The indignation and rage you feel when a loved one is under attack is like a nail being driven through your body. There are no words to describe your inability to breathe when your sister at heart pours out her hurt in unbelievable nail upon nail.

You want to dive from a cliff with a huge parachute and some serious weaponry to defend her and protect her. But, sadly its not possible. As with all things sorrowful, the real pain can only be borne by that person alone.

We say the right words. We believe it to be true. We try to comfort one another on the phone. We both know its going to get a whole lot worse before it gets better – and you are powerless to stop the the steamroller of hurt. My sister at heart doesn’t deserve any of this in her life of service and sweetness. She is an absolute trophy of God’s mercy and love. She is my sister at heart and I’m so proud of her courage and strength under fire.

As usual, she is teaching me things through her life experience. You would think I might offer ‘a thing or two’. Not so in our relationship. She has the goods. The talent. The inner beauty. She has it all – I admire her always – and think how blessed I am to be in this relationship.

If you think that it took me a long time to write this tribute of love and concern to my sister at heart – you would be wrong. These words of love and admiration took seconds and I don’t even have to think twice. This is my heart speaking about a woman to be modeled and admired.

It’s not Mother’s Day, Friendship Day or Sister at Heart Day – but I simply had to write this to tell everyone – that the tightest and toughest strings are heartstrings. My sister at heart and I have knotted those strings so many times, that no one can ever break them.

Regardless of where she is right now – and I truly hope she is sleeping soundly – I want her to know yet again – it is my privilege and mine alone to be her sister at heart. I am hurting deeply for her and I am praying for her through this night and for the countless days and nights ahead for continued strength to face each day with her natural instincts and very smart brain as added benefit to the incredible person she has become.

I love my sister at heart.

About Diary of a Changed Woman

Living a blessed life in Canada with my husband on the beautiful shores of Lake Huron. I work as a Human Resources consultant to small business. I love my family - our grandchildren are the loves of my life. I'm a change agent personally and professionally. Change is what I'm about - no matter what!
This entry was posted in Friendship Blessings. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Sisters at Heart

  1. Joanne says:

    What a lovely, heart-felt testimony. Your sister is lucky to know you.

Leave a Reply

