Let It Rain

4295. Number of gym trips until my 80th birthday. I’m in week three. The upside? I do my ‘cardio’ outside. In the dark. And sometimes…in the rain. I love getting out of the gym and into the dark coolness of the evening. The rain causes the trees to whisper a whole new song and the low key hissing of the traffic almost is soothing. A big departure from the six o’clock drama on the 401.

I embrace the thirty minutes, excited for the coolness and the calmness to de-stress the day away. My brain can think of its own volition – no need to respond to anyone or anything. I can simply be. I luxuriate in the leaves falling in harmony with the rain. I can see the outstanding beauty of the colour even after dark through the benefit of municipal street lighting. It brings a smile to my face. All by myself.

I’m getting soaked, but don’t care. This is my cool down period. My treat of the day. Who would have thought that this would become my idea of fun? It is my life after a busy day – so if I don’t like a part of it at least – then I had better like something or my evenings will become very tedious.

I know this sounds a little on the crazy side but – I really enjoy walks after the gym. Rain, dark, cold – it’s working for me.

About Diary of a Changed Woman

Living a blessed life in Canada with my husband on the beautiful shores of Lake Huron. I work as a Human Resources consultant to small business. I love my family - our grandchildren are the loves of my life. I'm a change agent personally and professionally. Change is what I'm about - no matter what!
This entry was posted in Daily Walk. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

