The Countdown Has Started

I realized something on my walk tonite. I have slightly over 10,000 days until my 80th birthday. That equates to approximately 4300 trips to the gym remaining before I dance at the biggest birthday I ever hope to have. I am jealously guarding my hot pink Prada shoes for the occasion. Perhaps I can find a matching nightgown. Or…maybe I will have such great muscles, I will wear one of my numbers from Danier. I can always dream, can’t I?

Numbers are interesting. I like challenges with numbers. I’m not like Rainman, but I do like to create games for myself with numbers. So tonite when I pondered the number of gym workouts remaining, it actually excited me a little bit. These are the health opportunities I must seize. (I am working on positive self talk as it relates to this commitment).

So, for every time I skip an opportunity, I cannot buy back the time I spent doing something else. I think I will try to weigh each choice against the gym with a question for myself. The question will be something like this – ‘is the choice I am making right now helping me in my overall quest for health and well being? Will it help me in my goal to dance at my 80th birthday?’

I am hoping it will help me make right choices. I need motivation and the time is now. It is so easy for me to waste time when I feel I need a break. I really desire to make taking a break become something profitable for mind and body at each opportunity.

I hear my cheerleading squad in Montreal and Mississauga giving me a shout out and I clearly don’t wish to disappoint them.

The countdown has started for me – 10,000 days. 4300 workouts. It is my prayer that God will give me the strength and length of days to accomplish the tasks that are before me.

About Diary of a Changed Woman

Living a blessed life in Canada with my husband on the beautiful shores of Lake Huron. I work as a Human Resources consultant to small business. I love my family - our grandchildren are the loves of my life. I'm a change agent personally and professionally. Change is what I'm about - no matter what!
This entry was posted in Daily Walk. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

