Nothing Compares to a Harvest Moon – Especially the Treadmill

Gym. Check. There are a pair of laser beams pointed at my head (they double as beautiful blue eyes). I have no choice.

With exercises committed to memory, I approach the gym with a sliver of confidence. I need to do my best. Hmmm…sounds like a lesson repeated so many times from mother to daughter. Now its role reversal. Or payback. Lateral pull down – c’mon…you can do 25 pounds x three repititions. Row machine – those delts need a challenge. I know what everyone reading is thinking – my newfound knowledge is impressive – from memory! Leg Press – 50 pounds – are you kidding me? Nope not for Gym Junkie Day Three. I am delighted to inform you that 80 pounds was actually doable x three repititions.

All of this to really impress upon you I’m serious. I want to do my best. But then it happened…my excellent memory brought to my mind that Brian Williams on NBC Nightly News reminded us all that tonight its a super harvest moon show featuring Jupiter for the first time like this since 1963. I looked at the treadmill. Weight routine complete – I have to do minimum 30 minutes cardio. Feeling like a kid in class at 3:00 on a sunny Friday…I BOLTED. I drove home, threw the keys down and pounded pavement while star gazing.

The moon was bigger than a dinner plate and Jupiter is shining like a bright jewel over our lake. The midnight blue sky was the perfect backdrop for any serious athlete, in my opinion. Keep pace, don’t dilly dally…I can hear my trainer’s stern voice in my head. I did…I made big tracks, but I multi-tasked by looking at the sky and ensuring I didn’t fall over something.

It was a treat to be in the cooler night air simply marvelling at the goodness of God in creating this wondrous occasion. Priorities being met, balance rearing its beauty in my heart and my soul being satisfied all at once. This night of gym activity is one for the memory book or at least the blog. Harvest Moon will win over the treadmill always.

About Diary of a Changed Woman

Living a blessed life in Canada with my husband on the beautiful shores of Lake Huron. I work as a Human Resources consultant to small business. I love my family - our grandchildren are the loves of my life. I'm a change agent personally and professionally. Change is what I'm about - no matter what!
This entry was posted in Daily Walk. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

