How to Handle Caesar (part 2, sort of)

I’ve been re-reading some of my earlier rants. Yes, they’re rants. I don’t need to be kind. My blog on God and Caesar made me think I was not clear on how to handle Caesar.

You see Caesar (Canada Revenue Agency) allows us to use any charitable giving as a tax credit. Very nice. Thank you, in fact. It is almost 50%, actually. So for every dollar you give to a not for profit organization after a certain base amount (I think it’s $200), then you start to rack up tax credit (relief).

Here’s a scenario for you. Let’s use the example of the fact that last year you were upset by the fact that you had to pay $360 in tax when you filed your return (about $30 per month more needed to be paid). In reality had you given God $60 per month – you would not have had a tax bill and all year long, HIS work would have received a little extra something from you.

Believe me when I say, I am not against paying my fair share in taxes. I do pay taxes – plenty. However – it motivates me more to work for MY King and to give HIM more than to work for Caesar and pay more than I feel I should.

When I give a dollar in ministry, I know its used to increase our outreach locally and around the world. When I give a dollar to Caesar, I am constantly frustrated by misuse of their budgets and priorities. The cause of Christ – no – my LOVE for Christ makes me do this.

2 Corinthians 5:14 “the love of Christ controls us…”

Before I sign off on this topic – let’s remember that first and foremost I am not using charitable giving because I am deferring taxes. My own belief and desire to tithe (give at least 10 %) my wages (before tax) started the first time I earned money as a teen, for that was the biblical truth I was taught. So now when I look at taxes, my starting point is already with the fact that I am a tither of my money. This is simply a methodology of how to incent me to work hard, if not harder and to keep my attitude in check when it comes to how to handle Caesar. God first, then Caesar, then save, then spend. It has stood us in very good stead – and we have not ever been wanting for anything. We just haven’t spent what is rightfully not ours and I can sleep at night.

About Diary of a Changed Woman

Living a blessed life in Canada with my husband on the beautiful shores of Lake Huron. I work as a Human Resources consultant to small business. I love my family - our grandchildren are the loves of my life. I'm a change agent personally and professionally. Change is what I'm about - no matter what!
This entry was posted in Bible Verse of the Day. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

