Remember Me Muscles?

I did it. I went to the gym BY MYSELF. My doctor told me that the brain is the biggest energy hog of the entire body. He said that it will absorb energy to the detriment of the rest of my body. Hence the old ‘mind over matter’ will not really work well if I am trying to convince myself its time to go to the gym. My brain will make me feel tired. It will make me feel sick. It will tell me a number of ‘reasons’ why its not a good idea.

Enter Daytimer – my accountability partner. If its in the Daytimer – it has to be done or its not the end of the day. Out think I may try – but if I delay – the ‘to do’ item for the day will only be delayed. Sigh…not my favorite thing at 7:30 in the evening. However – how can I defer it on day 2 out of 3 committed gym days this week. I live with my personal trainer. I am trying to live up to her diligent example. What will she say – or worse – what will she think?

My house has become No Excuses Zone. Off I go with my recipe card also known as my routine for the evening. Five minutes of warm up. Check. Now to my circuit. What a big girl. Lateral pull down. Leg Press…et cetera et cetera. A little confusion ensues over the right machine and how to use it, but it comes to me and I am victorious. Woman versus machine – complete! As I eye the clock wondering when this self inflicted torture will be over – after more cardio – I am done. And just so you know – really completed the list. Honest.

My trainer has been telling me I need to engage my muscles – wake them up, etc. Well, tonight I told them who is boss. Told my brain too. Please don’t try to derail me, brain. My every other muscle in my body needs a wake up call. They received it according to plan. Gym weight training day 2 out of 3 COMPLETE. Muscles, please don’t forget me – I will be engaging with you again on Wednesday.

About Diary of a Changed Woman

Living a blessed life in Canada with my husband on the beautiful shores of Lake Huron. I work as a Human Resources consultant to small business. I love my family - our grandchildren are the loves of my life. I'm a change agent personally and professionally. Change is what I'm about - no matter what!
This entry was posted in Daily Walk. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Remember Me Muscles?

  1. Starr Toner says:

    Dear Jayne….I have been reading your blog, and really enjoying it. I think about Dad and how he reminds me of your husband. Love God, your family, and then other things……. He used to tell us all the time. Praise God for Fathers!!!! I see that your grandchildren call you Nana….that’s what my 4 call me as well. Keep up the great work…and God Bless you and your family!! xoxo

Leave a Reply

