Falling for Fall

I love this time of year. Bright sun and cooler days. It makes me want to bake and create sumptuous stews and soups. I want to have a hot chocolate made with ‘ever so dark’ cocoa powder and shuffle my feet in the leaves.

I’m incented to garden as well. I love to trim bushes and clean the backyard to create the canvas for the blanket of leaves that will descend shortly from our humungous sugar maples. Considering I live in a large city, our backyard is pretty nice. Like a little forest retreat all shaded, as a respite from the hectic world.

Even though it seems like fall hastens as a speedbump en route to Christmas, I like to savour its offerings each and every day. When its rainy, I pull out my bright green raincoat – when its sunny and cooler, then a fleece hoodie in the convertible is ever so cozy.

We look forward to our fall vacation – we choose a destination like Vermont and simply put down the ragtop and buy continous cups of steaming hot Green Mountain coffee at every twisty turn through the mountains. The leaves swirl from above and below while we drive through the little villages preparing their fall festivals. We love and cherish those drives. All the vacationers are typically gone back to the routines of work and school and we feel like the beautiful array of leftover colour has been reserved for us. Can’t wait.

This year we will pass through our beloved Vermont and New Hampshire and continue through to New Brunswick for a wedding. It will be a long drive, but we will relish the time we share in the car reading, llistening to music or in pleasant conversation far away from the torrent of responsibility at home.

The more time away, the better. We love being together in our little red ragtop…on a shoestring and a prayer….happy to be together in the fall.

The fall is glorious. We are so blessed to have the four seasons as a definite colour palate. As you know since I love change – this seasonal change is absolutely breathtaking. The nuances in colour when the sun lights up the forest of colour makes the show resplendent. There is something warm and cheery when windows burn brightly once the shorter days take hold. I know we can’t do all the summer things we love so much – but apple picking cannot be done in summer. Pumpkins aren’t orange in July. The leaves provide a canopy in the summer and in the fall – well – they are beautiful just FALL – ing….The musky smells and the quieter walks around our special lake are different. Overhead our attention is drawn to see if the geese are in formation, or just moving location within the city – hard to know sometimes. I could go on…I love this season. I’m ready for my ten minutes of book reading by the fire. I’m ready for my warm stew and fresh bread. A cup of kindness in hot apple cider. I have fallen for FALL.

About Diary of a Changed Woman

Living a blessed life in Canada with my husband on the beautiful shores of Lake Huron. I work as a Human Resources consultant to small business. I love my family - our grandchildren are the loves of my life. I'm a change agent personally and professionally. Change is what I'm about - no matter what!
This entry was posted in Daily Walk. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

