Pick a Book – Any Book…and READ!

Trying to reprioritize my day continues to be a struggle. The seemingly gargantuan task of getting up in the morning is the beginning of the challenge and it seems to stay status quo for the day. We all have twenty four hours, right? Why is it with the daily gift of time, I simply cannot master the task of right priorities in right places?

Every day I end up dissatisfied – maybe I missed something – like the simple pleasure of picking up a book and reading it. I have stacks of unread books. I love buying them. The pleasure it brings as I choose something of interest is very powerful.

I virtuously tell myself that books are always wonderful to have because you will never be lonely when you have a book to read. So I consider a good use of minor disposable funds to purchase and stack books. Never, or at least rarely, do I take ten minutes to make progress in an ongoing book for ‘fun’. There’s always a method to my madness – research – or required reading for a project – but hardly ever for pleasure.

I’m looking at my current hit parade on my desk and thinking – okay – two hours left before its time to retire – how should we do this? What CAN I do? I am constantly challenged with need to organize my evening tasks – but I feel so rushed through the day, that it seems I would rather putter the evening away like a truant.

The available evening light is fading quickly as a reminder that fall is starting to ‘fall upon’ us. I am sincerely hoping that as I try to grapple with business workload that I will not feel cheated of precious time. I love my business tasks, but I need to be able to keep the volume of life turned up on the same level until a little later in the evening so that I can pick a book – any book…and READ. It would be a dream come true – and it would encourage me in my quest for balance.

About Diary of a Changed Woman

Living a blessed life in Canada with my husband on the beautiful shores of Lake Huron. I work as a Human Resources consultant to small business. I love my family - our grandchildren are the loves of my life. I'm a change agent personally and professionally. Change is what I'm about - no matter what!
This entry was posted in Daily Walk. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Pick a Book – Any Book…and READ!

  1. Amy says:

    Go get that book and start reading . . . only 10 minutes . . . or a chapter 🙂 Right now I’m reading for pleasure Bryson City Seasons by Walt Larrimore. He was an MD and has written stories of when he was in practice. I read around 15 minutes almost every night right before I go up to bed. It’s wonderful!

    By the way, I love coming to your house and choosing one from your stacks of books. ☺

  2. Sharon Dow says:

    Reading has never been a problem for me. From early childhood, it became a daily habit which still continues. I read every day!! I agree with Amy: choose a book and get going!! One chapter or 15 minutes – whatever works best for you!

Leave a Reply

