Service with a Smile

What a whirlwind weekend! We had organized a girl/women trip to a conference called “You and Your Girl” in Syracuse New York. We left early Friday afternoon and got home very late Saturday night. I coordinated all the details around the adventure. I thought it would be a wonderful way to provide an opportunity for the interested girls of our church (young and old) to bond and learn some new spiritual truth together.

The details were in marketing, selling, registering, organizing, coordinating, and tour guiding. The process started in May and we finally enjoyed the experience. There was much anticipation for the event and we were not disappointed. Two vehicles made their way from Oakville to Syracuse and 1 vehicle made its way from Pennsylvania (they are and forevermore will be an extension of our church family). The mid point. We had a smooth trip of casual conversation and coffee.

Upon arrival at Holiday Inn Express, we were eager to meet up with our PA contingent and make tracks for dinner. We surveyed the audience and decided upon Appleby’s. Everyone seemed good with the decision and we headed out for the evening with hopes to hit Target and swim.

Yummy food, beyond what we could finish and some time left over for Target even! I was able to do some very creative things with 30 minutes. It was a good break to stretch and have some retail therapy. We went back to the hotel to our respective rooms and activities (my activity was go to bed).

The next morning was bright and clear and we divided into a couple of vehicles to score our caffeine of choice – Dunkin or Tim’s…pick your poison. Completely ready we proceeded to North Syracuse Baptist Church for a day with Vicki Courtney, a teen culture commentator (www.vickicourtney.com). Lots to learn and share – it was a great day with 500 of our sisterhood. Vicki is a terrific speaker. She has Virtuous Reality alerts for moms and teens. Relevant and challenging. Tons of info for us to digest.

It brought us together as a group. I was so tired. Why do I do these things I ask myself? I am long past my time as a teen or a mom of teens. Some days I feel old. However, I am able to coodinate these events, still. They bring about camaradie between the attendees and tie them to our church as a place that strives to be relevant and connected. I’ve had a lot of ‘road trips’ recently and I am ready to be done. However – it is very satisfying to have gone along for the ride on this one – and I did coordinate it as a service to my sisters and my God, and I managed to do it all with a smile. It was a another noteworthy experience.

About Diary of a Changed Woman

Living a blessed life in Canada with my husband on the beautiful shores of Lake Huron. I work as a Human Resources consultant to small business. I love my family - our grandchildren are the loves of my life. I'm a change agent personally and professionally. Change is what I'm about - no matter what!
This entry was posted in Daily Walk. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

