Why Children are Necessary in My Life

I would never have thought this possible – much less write about it for the world to see – but I need my kids. When Robin Williams played the devoted dad in Mrs. Doubtfire and he appeared in court for the assignment of custody – he wailed – “I need my kids like I need air.” I got it the first time he said it and on many subsequent occasions when I have watched that movie – I need my kids like I need air.

I know I’m not a parent fighting over custody (I’m so grateful), nor am I a parent facing the empty nest. Been there, done that. I am, however, a parent who loves her kids and even more than that – enjoys friendship with her adult children. I just crave time with my kids. Why are they so necessary to me?

Children reflect so many things about the life you have lived. Our kids are involved in ministry and have always embraced ministry opportunity when it was presented – without flinching. Devotees in their own right to God. It’s so wonderful to see that unfold. The ministry is one example of this reflection.

Children provide opportunities for you to express yourself with abandonment. I freely laugh at my kids (and with them), cry with them (or over them), rejoice with them, celebrate, mourn…all intensely private feelings that can be expressed – only with your kids.

Children create a world unto themselves through their careers, homes and lives that give cause for great excitement for the parents on stand by. I relish those times when one of our children will share an accomplishment, a dream, a goal. To watch them taking their place in their adult world as a fully functioning citizen is incredibly satisfying.

Children give me a reason to believe I have purpose in this world. We all need to be needed in some way. As a mom, its great if I can buy a coffee, be a sounding board, share a meal, or be there to give or receive a hug. I’m not needy – I just desire to bless my kids in any way possible. I hope it will strengthen them for the journey ahead and make the burden just a little bit lighter.

What would I do without the excitement of children? Where would I be without children? I really don’t even want to imagine my life without my kids. Children – my precious children – all three of them (yes, you read it correctly) have filled my life beyond what I could ask or think about my life. They are essential ingredients to my heart and soul.

About Diary of a Changed Woman

Living a blessed life in Canada with my husband on the beautiful shores of Lake Huron. I work as a Human Resources consultant to small business. I love my family - our grandchildren are the loves of my life. I'm a change agent personally and professionally. Change is what I'm about - no matter what!
This entry was posted in Daily Walk. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Why Children are Necessary in My Life

  1. Sharon Dow says:

    Oh how I agree!! I can’t go a week without seeing them or at least talking to the ones who live out of town. I once thought that when they grew up my parenting job would be done; how wrong I was!! It’s never done and I’m so thankful for that. I need them: and so far, they still need me! God is good, so good that He placed us in families! Thanks Jayne!!

  2. Sheila C. Gibson says:

    Jayne – Even though I do not have kids, I know these feelings well. Unfortunately, my siblings and family are so far away and I have been endeavoring to maintain relationships over the miles, (thank goodness for Facebook!) but it is not like being there for the daily interaction. I am been able to share some of these feelings with other children. I needless to say, had a wonderful role model of how to be an Aunt. I do fail sometimes, but like “progressive sanctification” I am not giving up. I keep trying! Love Sheila

  3. Kelley says:

    I know I wouldn’t have survived my divorce without my kids. They kept me focused on moving forward and perservering despite the turmoil. It has been 6 years of shared custody and I still find the days they are gone lonely while I ramble around the house wondering what to do with myself.

Leave a Reply

