Why Can’t…?

Relationships are complicated. I think everyone will agree with that statement. I am continuously challenged in my life to maintain relationships that lift me up. Why is it that so many times I am simply let down? (This is a rhetorical question, for I know the answer).

I want to love, accept, respect. I really hope that this behaviour somehow will pay it forward to a relative, a colleague, a near family member, a neighbour, a stranger. Sometimes it doesn’t feel that way, though. I despair when ‘things’ don’t turn out as I hope they will in my opinion. I become frustrated, angry, yes, I will admit, I sometimes want to take matters into my own hands. Won’t work, will it? I hear you yelling it out loud from wherever you might be here and now.

I don’t want the tie that binds to be my funeral. Life is so short. Can we not just focus on things we have in common as opposed to things that keep us apart? This is not a sad love song from The Carpenters, friends. I’m talking about real life. This is me pouring out my heart about how complicated we make our relationships when we turn our backs on forgiveness, second chances, and agape love – the kind God has for us.

My Beloved and I were discussing friendships and how a person becomes or better yet, remains a friend. I honestly couldn’t answer the question – I don’t know what to say. Who are my friends? Really, I don’t know.

In this self indulgent cry for acceptance, respect and possibly love – I do know this – Proverbs 18:24 “A man of many companions may come to ruin, but there is a friend who sticks closer than a brother.”

Why can’t we be friends? Why can’t we enjoy each other as people? Why can’t we love our family? Why can’t we act as our Friend – who loves us all – beyond our wildest imagination.

My heart is searching for those people who are looking for the same thing.

About Diary of a Changed Woman

Living a blessed life in Canada with my husband on the beautiful shores of Lake Huron. I work as a Human Resources consultant to small business. I love my family - our grandchildren are the loves of my life. I'm a change agent personally and professionally. Change is what I'm about - no matter what!
This entry was posted in Bible Verse of the Day. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Why Can’t…?

  1. Sheila C. Gibson says:

    I so agree with you Jayne. Why are relationships so complicated. Maybe it is because we have too high an expectation of what we want/should have from a relationship. Maybe our “needs” get in the way of just relaxing a being. I asked someone once how they could just love someone, and they said that they always found one positive this to focus on about that person and didn’t focus on the negative. Of course this is easier said than done and of course our judgemental side kicks in before we even know it, (that for me is probably due more to my lack of time in God’s word and prayer). Like the old saying, when your heart is full of the Lord to overflowing, there is not room for anything else! Oh well, I guess is why they call it “progressive sanctification”. We haven’t arrived and it is encouraging to know that it is a journey and that God is not done with us yet! Love Sheila

Leave a Reply

