The Best Laid Plans Ottawa Day 2

The Weather Network didn’t make any promises of total cooperation, but enough positivity to ensure My Beloved was on the bike by about 8:30 and ready to drive to Montreal. A nice three hour drive, lunch with our friend, three hour drive back and dinner with us around 7. Well – it looks good in writing, at least.

While we breakfasted, drank coffee and chatted till noon, my mind was on motorcycling in Quebec and absence of ‘will call upon arrival’.
RL2’s were touching base and catching up with the medical team in Mississauga. This now swept through three dear friends, (two families helping with care and one doctor friend checking in). Child doing better, big relief. No phone call, no relief.

Noon became mid afternoon and I was getting antsy. I store up a little too much energy while sitting. No call. Three o’clock no call. What is up? Now its getting hard to focus on the pleasantries of the afternoon.

We make plans for dinner and head out to the local grocery and get the supplies needed. We enjoy camardarie as we start to make preparations. The remaining guys in the household were doing some needed chores.

Finally by four o’clock, the phone rings. My Beloved’s voice in calm, reassuring tones telling me that he had arrived at 3:15 after a horrendous day on the road. Accidents, traffic, weather exceeding 35 degrees celsius. As long as you’re okay…then he says bad weather is whipping up so he said probably will return by midnight. So much for the nice dinner in Ottawa.

I was very happy he was safe and sound. I re-focussed on the tasks at hand – dinner.

We simply puttered our way through the evening, enjoying each other’s company, chatting, eating, and watching some T.V. – the hours drifted by and mind took up the familiar vigil of ‘when will My Beloved return?’ ‘Where is he?’ “How are the conditions?’ RING. He read my mind – I’m sure of it. “I’m fine”, he says, “here are my coordinates on the highway now”. Another hour or so…RING He checked in again. I’m liking this behaviour. I know his location for safety sake. Then before I knew it – he walked in – from the rain and the road – as pleased as ever.

Tired, but totally satisfied. Very glad he did it – so he could visit in Quebec with our friend, and also he now owns another series of road warrior stories. We make tracks for some rest because the next day will be more biking to home.

Safe and sound – reflecting on the best laid plans gone awry – yet again. Happy to be together.

About Diary of a Changed Woman

Living a blessed life in Canada with my husband on the beautiful shores of Lake Huron. I work as a Human Resources consultant to small business. I love my family - our grandchildren are the loves of my life. I'm a change agent personally and professionally. Change is what I'm about - no matter what!
This entry was posted in Daily Walk. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

