Cellular Self Importance

I was looking forward to a ‘girls night out’ to see “Eat Pray Love”. So were 200 of my closest sisterhood. We got the tickets for half price, but with popcorn and a drink for 2 – it’s still basically twenty bucks. So if you’re out with a girlfriend, for those two and a half delicious hours of freedom and escape – do you really need to be in touch with the world through the holy grail of cellular-land?

All through the movie certain Crackberry holders had to ensure they didn’t miss the riveting text of someone external to the theatre. Ever so ‘sly’ (not) they of course place their electronic device on vibrate, and then proceed to light up the entire room when they send and receive on silent. Way to go Einstein!

Meanwhile, if the movie was that boring, why waste time at all? But no, I have to sit and cast sideways glances at you and then it is flipped over, like a recalcitrant child.

We have really lost ourselves to these devices. We don’t see heads of state wandering aimlessly looking at their phone to see if a new war has started or if a nuclear missile is about to be detonated. We almost never have meaningful conversations in real face to face context anymore. It just seems that if we hold our heads down to face some drivel on a cellphone that we are somehow V.I.P.’s in this faceless, disconnected world.

“Sylvia, pick up milk on the way home” “Susan, Andrew threw up” – are these texts really going to change the next thirty minutes of a movie you purposefully went to see? I waited almost six months for the movie to come out. I can handle my personal affairs outside of the two and half hours it takes to consume a regular popcorn and watch a movie.

Are we sure that much access to our personal time is good for us? When do we have boundaries and simply turn off the power?
I think the answer lies within where we draw our sense of ourselves. Sadly for many, it comes from a device about the same size as recipe card. I truly was frustrated by it, but as I observed people walking out of theatre in this same condition, I thought – too bad for you. No one you desire to be with this evening is more important than an Apple or Berry…as for me – it was another one of those woman to woman bonding experiences I will continue to recall with my daughter who was gracious enough to join me for this event.

About Diary of a Changed Woman

Living a blessed life in Canada with my husband on the beautiful shores of Lake Huron. I work as a Human Resources consultant to small business. I love my family - our grandchildren are the loves of my life. I'm a change agent personally and professionally. Change is what I'm about - no matter what!
This entry was posted in Daily Walk. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

