Life on the Beach

Cape Spencer is on the Bay of Funday, an inlet off the Atlantic Ocean. This is very cold water. When you try to go swimming, you have to stand there and let your legs get numb first. Only an extremely hot day (very rare on the east coast) would you really embrace the idea of diving in the water.

Nonetheless, there are beaches along the coast. Some very rocky, some with sand where you can picnic and play. I had two very special beaches where I spent a lot of time, in all seasons. The beach is my place to think, work out problems, share ideas and chill. I have walked countless miles over the beaches publishing my words to the sand and the sky. My two special beaches were the Fishing Beach and Mispec Beach.

Back in the day you could go to the beach by yourself at a very young age. I would peddle my bike to the beach of my choice, dreaming of the day my two wheels would be four. Once at the beach, there would be a treat to buy, swings to ride and sand to play in. Building sandcastles would lend itself to my dreams being played out in sand that would as quickly become flattened with the next tide. I lived at the beach once school was out, chores done, or when left alone.

The beach was respite when things became complicated at home. The beach was the place where things remained the same. Sand may shift, but its still sand. There was no one to talk back to your thoughts and opinions. There was acceptance. There was peace. The ocean roar was music that brought balance back into my brain. Even as a young girl, I knew that I was most at home on the beach. There were times when I would be there early in the day and stay until beyond sunset. I felt whole.

There will be more stories about my beaches because I lived a lot of my life there. I left some of my life there as well. I will be relating more about my beloved beaches very soon.

About Diary of a Changed Woman

Living a blessed life in Canada with my husband on the beautiful shores of Lake Huron. I work as a Human Resources consultant to small business. I love my family - our grandchildren are the loves of my life. I'm a change agent personally and professionally. Change is what I'm about - no matter what!
This entry was posted in Lighthouse Keeper's Daughter Stories. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Life on the Beach

  1. lorene says:

    Summertime memories are always fresh. I lived in St George at the age 13. We would hike to the Canal beach or Lake Uptoia. Have bomb fires on the coast. I wonder if we had taken lunches with us, maybe a cheese whiz sandwich. Gone are the days of kid freedom. Gone are the days of the back yard communities , where kids ruled the ball game and if you didn’t like it, go home and wine to your mom that the kids are unfair, we learned how to work together, and didn’t need refrees or lawyers to tell us how to play. Now kids are instructed DON’T RUN AT THE PLAYGROUND, remember the days when kids went on the merry go around going so fast, and some would throw up, oh well, you were having fun. What about climbing the highest tree without fall out, without spending 100.00 on climbing gear. Now you would have to contact Green Peace to get permission. This could go on and on. Lorene

  2. Kelley says:

    Was at both beaches this summer. It was very heartwarming to see the swings my dad put in when we lived on Mispec beach still there!! I don’t know how much longer they will be there, but it did my heart good to be near something he built himself.

Leave a Reply

