My Sad Road Trip Part 1 August 27, 2010

Today we drove to Montreal. It was a group of five. We gathered from Milton, Oakville and Mississauga, piled in a van and solemnly began the trek to the city where on Saturday we will celebrate the life of our dear friend and co-labourer in ministry, Carole Brind’Amour (see my Tribute to Carole Brind’Amour written on August 25, 2010). This is not the type of road trip any of us wish to do. We are an unlikely group of travel mates – thrust together in the saddest of circumstances.

We make the typical stops for gas, coffee, dinner. We speak happily at times, and thoughtfully at other times. The over riding tone of the ride is deeply troubling. We are sorrowing, not as those who are hopeless, but at our loss of our sister in Christ and the impact upon her loving family.

So many people will gather in St. Jean du Richelieu on Saturday morning. We have all travelled from somewhere and are ensconced in our motel rooms trying to sink into uneasy rest for in a few short hours we will begin the final farewell with one another. We will comfort one another with our words, our songs and our presence at the service. How will we be of comfort to La famille Brind’Amour? I, for one, am calling upon the power of prayer to transcend anything I can say or do. I know from experience that God is our Comforter and that while there is some temporary comfort in our attendance tomorrow, when the service is done, the coffee consumed and the final hug disbursed, that God will be there, everywhere, actually, holding each and every one of us in the comfort of His arms leading us through our heartbreak. I am trusting Him, as Jacques is trusting Him. HE will not disappoint any of us.

About Diary of a Changed Woman

Living a blessed life in Canada with my husband on the beautiful shores of Lake Huron. I work as a Human Resources consultant to small business. I love my family - our grandchildren are the loves of my life. I'm a change agent personally and professionally. Change is what I'm about - no matter what!
This entry was posted in Postcards from My Journey. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to My Sad Road Trip Part 1 August 27, 2010

  1. Dan Amorim says:

    My thoughts and prayers with you and your friends at this moment: 4:10 PM Saturday.

Leave a Reply

