My Friendship Bank Account August 25, 2010

Isn’t it absolutely refreshing to have a really good friend that you see only on occasion, but when you do – you gab like crazy for hours on end like no time has ever passed?

Such was the case for me last evening. The reason I am posting this now is because it was too late to do so yesterday. I caught up with my friend over dinner. We caught up on summer vacations, work stuff, children and grandchildren, family life, hobbies, fashion, extracurricular activities, coming events…should I continue?

We go to a great place that is a treat for the two of us and blithely inform the server – ‘this will be a long night’ – so they get a couple of things straight. 1) We will spend a little money over time and 2) Don’t bug us every 5 minutes asking if ‘everything is okay, ladies?’. Then we start. Whatever comes out of our mouth. There is never a pause. We take turns. We laugh. We commisserate. We share tears (she had a dear loved one pass away). We plan. We network. We ENJOY.

We were once business colleagues, but that quickly turned into ‘friend’. It all started 10 years ago in a very bad business deal – but the real gold (there was certainly none to be had from the company), was my friend. Which is a reminder that we should never count our riches by our bank accounts, but we should count our riches by our friends. This one very special friend was a wonderful deposit to my Friend Account so long ago – and I cherish everything about her.

About Diary of a Changed Woman

Living a blessed life in Canada with my husband on the beautiful shores of Lake Huron. I work as a Human Resources consultant to small business. I love my family - our grandchildren are the loves of my life. I'm a change agent personally and professionally. Change is what I'm about - no matter what!
This entry was posted in Daily Walk. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

