The Information Highway of My Grandson’s Heart

He’s a ‘high on life’ kid. So much going on – watching Wipeout (a totally crazy show), throwing baseballs, returning from camp, following Papa, and so on. When you really want to ask some questions to get some insight into the busy world of the eight year old on summer vacation, the wires can get a little tangled. ‘Did you have Bible time at camp?’ NJP ‘no, we played and I fell off my top bunk.’ So you wonder to yourself, after the whole discourse last week of doing business with God, what happened? A few more karate moves and a head bump and he mentions activity time. What about Bible time? ‘Well, after lunch, I said.’ He didn’t really say after lunch, we jst couldn’t quite get the sequence of events about his trip to California, camp, Blue Jays Game or anything – in a cohesive manner, at least.

His methods around the disbursement of information are about as complicated as a bunch of wires that form a spaghetti junction at the network server. Can you picture this? You simply have to ask questions from time to time and plant seeds and then later close the issue once it hits him he has something to say, usually around bedtime, the more reflective hour.

It’s a complicated place – being on the information highway to my grandson’s heart. The great news is that I am on that highway – and even the twisty turny journey to getting the answer to a question about his life is on the road and we know all roads lead to home – in his heart. The place where I really want to be. I have time. I’m a Nana.

About Diary of a Changed Woman

Living a blessed life in Canada with my husband on the beautiful shores of Lake Huron. I work as a Human Resources consultant to small business. I love my family - our grandchildren are the loves of my life. I'm a change agent personally and professionally. Change is what I'm about - no matter what!
This entry was posted in Grandchildren. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

