Background of the Lighthouse Keeper’s Daughter Stories

I love my husband. He is an encourager, supporter and listener. For years he has told me – you need to write this stuff down. The stories are so interesting. What he’s referring to are the stories I have told him about my life in New Brunswick. He also lived in New Brunswick, but had a very different life from mine. He believes that my ability to tell the story is somehow entertaining to him and he has wanted me to preserve it for our daughters and grandchildren.

Blogging has made this possible. Now. At this time in history. Isn’t it amazing how things simply ‘come together’ and a goal can be accomplished? Through my personal reprioritization and WordPress, I can now begin to randomly tell a story anytime I feel like it (almost anytime).

I’m calling it Lighthouse Keeper’s Daughter Stories because there is a particularly happy period of my life from when I was 13-16 when my dad (grandfather) worked as a lighthouse keeper at Cape Spencer, New Brunswick. When I tell people now, even, that my dad had this job – everyone thinks its some wonderful romantic life. Living on a rock, away from civilization. It was nice. But for different reasons than you might think. So in tribute to this time – as a starting place for the stories – I was a lighthouse keeper’s daughter and I have stories to share. Think about the ocean, blue as blue can be and a rather small all white lighthouse with a red stripe around the middle. There are three little white houses that look like those Monopoly houses you buy and plop on property you own during the game.

We are the first house at the top of the hill on the left hand side. Please pull in the driveway, and come in. The tea kettle is ready and there are always molasses cookies ready on the table. If you come around 5, supper will be waiting and you are welcome.

About Diary of a Changed Woman

Living a blessed life in Canada with my husband on the beautiful shores of Lake Huron. I work as a Human Resources consultant to small business. I love my family - our grandchildren are the loves of my life. I'm a change agent personally and professionally. Change is what I'm about - no matter what!
This entry was posted in Lighthouse Keeper's Daughter Stories. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Background of the Lighthouse Keeper’s Daughter Stories

  1. Liz Langevin says:

    Can’t wait to read more about the Lighthouse Keeper’s Daughter. Looking forward to getting know another side of my dear friend! Loving your blogs.

Leave a Reply

