A Reason, A Season, A Lifetime

Have you heard the quote ‘people are in your life for a reason, a season or a lifetime’?

I think about that A LOT. Why are people in my life? Where did they go? Why did they go? It makes me sad, glad, confused. There are times when I can honestly say that I am relieved when someone is no longer in my life. Then there are the times when I can honestly say the bereavement period will never end (they didn’t die and last I checked – neither did I).

My Beloved said something very profound during our recent vacation in Italy as we were reviewing friends and taking stock. He said some relationships have really been joyful and sad but that everyone is in our life because its part of our journey and they are a stop along the road to our ultimate destination. It was thought provoking for me. So my being in their life was not the primary goal. They came to me as part of my journey through life. Hmmm. Temporary, sweet, challenging, difficult and GONE. That’s one bumpy journey, I say.

It did speak to the idea that people are in your life for ‘a reason, a season, a lifetime’. When I think that I want them on my journey for a lifetime, I guess I’m saying I would be the controller and do the choosing. I simply wasn’t ready for some people to go. However, then there are others who didn’t move along fast enough for my liking at all, but the season wasn’t over.

There are some people I think about in my heart and still cannot ‘get over’. How heavy it is on some days when I see trails in my life of their indelible footprint. No matter how I wish I could (at times), I cannot push erase on my memory bank and select certain memories.
Oh if we could just truly and sincerely be open with our inner most thoughts and feelings – what would that be like here, in this world? Life changing, I have to believe.

Then there is the uplifting part about the lifetime. There are people in your life from start to finish (or at least a good chunk of it). Think about those special childhood friends that you meet up with from time to time. I have such friends. Really don’t see them at all, but again thanks to social networking and such, we have been able to touch base. Their life stories have intertwined with mine at times and it creates change in my heart and soul. WOW – what an impact. They have taught me things just by being themselves. Some are fortunate to still have parents alive – another precious endowment for the journey of life.

Today, I’ve been thinking about people in my life. The people I wish were still in my life. I also look forward to meeting those people yet to come as I continue on my journey. I need a few more layers of protective coating around my heart because not all of it will be good. Then again, I know some it will be great. I take next steps wondering – who are these people?

About Diary of a Changed Woman

Living a blessed life in Canada with my husband on the beautiful shores of Lake Huron. I work as a Human Resources consultant to small business. I love my family - our grandchildren are the loves of my life. I'm a change agent personally and professionally. Change is what I'm about - no matter what!
This entry was posted in Daily Walk. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to A Reason, A Season, A Lifetime

  1. Sheila C. Gibson says:

    Fabulous Jayne. These are just some of the thoughts I have been thinking. You should watch a movie called “The Boys are Back” with Clive Owen. It does talk about the tangled webs of a child’s mind. You can tell from watching him with the kids in the movie that Clive treasures being a husband and father, (he has been married for about 17 years and has two girls). Keep writing! Love one of those friends! Sheila

Leave a Reply

