The Music Has Changed

I was sitting in my backyard post walk with my morning Italian coffee and realized that something had changed. Gone are the mornings when the rooster made his confused calls for wake up times. I get it now. The lyrical Italian wafting from my neighbours in Tuscany has given way to the ceaseless drone of traffic. SIGH! This noise – there is no music to it – is also calling me to its grey and wearisome party. In one short hour, I will join the choir of hundreds of thousands who must make their way through the G.T.A. to some destination other than the local pastry shop. The low din never stops. Whether it tops the trees from the highway or whether it escalates when the train is readying itself for the next stop. It continues.

I would much rather hear the Italian neighbours happily discussing their garden, their breakfast – whatever it was they were discussing. I don’t really care. I’m just not ready to be a drone on the road. Time to create my music.

About Diary of a Changed Woman

Living a blessed life in Canada with my husband on the beautiful shores of Lake Huron. I work as a Human Resources consultant to small business. I love my family - our grandchildren are the loves of my life. I'm a change agent personally and professionally. Change is what I'm about - no matter what!
This entry was posted in Daily Walk. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to The Music Has Changed

  1. Carol G. says:

    you know I had the same reaction when I came back from Portugal almost 20 years ago. There is something VERY appealing about the European lifestyle that we lost here in North America – at least in the cities. Rural spaces move at a slower pace, rely less on technology. There are places, perhaps my backyard, living room, where the pace can slow again. But life happens and we get caught up in the wave of life. Sometime they are furious crashing waves, and sometime they are lazy ripples. You and I are not going to change the pace here in the GTA. But we can strive to add peace and delight to someone’s day. You do that every time I have coffee with you!

Leave a Reply

