Needs Versus Wants

August 11 Morning Walk: My mind is spinning. It always does at the beginning of the day. I wouldn’t say I’m a morning person, but I can assert that my brain is a definite morning brain. It is alert and thinking the minute my feet hit the floor (I won’t say eyes open because that may happen about thirty minutes into my walk).

I am again contemplating the miserable challenge of embracing exercise. My brain is drumming to the beat of my footsteps: ‘you don’t want to, but you need to’ ‘you don’t want to, but you need to’ – alright! I hear it. Typically we think : I want (fill in the blank). Parents might ask ‘is it a need or a want’? We should ask ourselves this question at times. Parents might say ‘we supply needs, not wants’.

So my brain was countering with a play on these words: NEEDS and WANTS.

I NEED to exercise. I don’t WANT to exercise. Interesting isn’t it? I WANT new clothes. I WANT a dessert. I WANT WANT WANT….

If I exercise I will NEED new clothes. I will enjoy an occasional dessert. I will NEED NEED NEED…to continue exactly as I am…up early and focussed on the task at hand. This can’t change. My brain has created some change, now my body needs to get with the program.

About Diary of a Changed Woman

Living a blessed life in Canada with my husband on the beautiful shores of Lake Huron. I work as a Human Resources consultant to small business. I love my family - our grandchildren are the loves of my life. I'm a change agent personally and professionally. Change is what I'm about - no matter what!
This entry was posted in Daily Walk. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

