Disconnected to Reconnected

During my Italian sojourn, electronics were not an option. No phone, no email, no TV. Screech to a stop. NO T.V.? Had I known this prior to booking my trans-Atlantic flight, I’m not sure this trip would have happened.

I had to learn to let it go. It doesn’t matter who wants to speak to me. My kids, my business. Too late now. But going to bed and not watching T.V.? Panic was not far from me. How on earth would I go to sleep before 1 A.M. without a T.V.?

Day 1 – the show was about noisy Spanish kids on Air France.
Day 2 – Florentine life in full swing in the palazzo below my window.
Day 3 – more Florentine night life
Day 4 – the delicious sounds and smells of Rio Maggiore during a magnificent thunder storm
Day 5 – crickets singing happily in Pisa
Day 6 – roosters and crickets and holidaying children from Holland
Day 7 – ditto
Day 8 – ditto
Day 9 – ditto
Day 10 – ditto
Day 11 – ditto
Day 12 – new Florence packing up and heading out on August holiday
Day 13 – Canada (think screeching tire sound) What now?

DO NOT TURN ON THE T.V.
Practice the quieting techniques from Italy. Let your mind drift to olive groves and vineyards. Hear the rooster crowing.

Back at work, some things are necessary evils. Some things are not necessary at all. I plan to really think through how to manage my connection to my life now that I’m back in Canada. It is going to take some time and I plan on doing it slowly as I don’t wish to awaken the consumption giant known as media. PEACE. A concept I began to learn in Italy. I must continue the journey in seeking peace.

About Diary of a Changed Woman

Living a blessed life in Canada with my husband on the beautiful shores of Lake Huron. I work as a Human Resources consultant to small business. I love my family - our grandchildren are the loves of my life. I'm a change agent personally and professionally. Change is what I'm about - no matter what!
This entry was posted in Daily Walk. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

